Lowell S. Hardin Award for Excellence in International Activities

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS for the 2019-20 Hardin Award  (Open link for PDF)

The office of International Programs in Agriculture (IPIA) invites nominations for the inaugural award for Excellence in International Agriculture, named in honor of our former colleague, Professor Lowell Hardin. This award, newly-established for the 2019-2020 academic year, is intended to honor the legacy of Prof. Hardin, his contributions to international agriculture, and his many years of service in support of international activities in the Purdue University College of Agriculture. The award recognizes significant contributions of College of Agriculture faculty members to international activities. Faculty members currently serving at any rank in the College of Agriculture are eligible for nomination. The award consists of a plaque and honorarium to be used to further the recipient's international program. Winners will be recognized in a public ceremony and the names of award winners will be placed on permanent display in the agricultural administration building.

Nominations may focus on innovative and impactful contributions to international excellence in any or all College of Agriculture mission areas including research, teaching, and engagement. The ideal nominee will demonstrate excellence in all three mission areas. Nomination documents should describe clearly and concisely the individual's international contributions and impacts.

The nomination package must include:

  1. A nomination letter highlighting the nominee's contributions and commitment to international activities;
  2. Two additional letters of support, including at least one from an international partner or organization; and
  3. The nominee's curriculum vitae.

It is particularly important that the nomination package describes how the candidate's efforts satisfy the three primary criteria for the award:

  1. Excellence in international research, teaching and/or engagement (the ideal nominee will demonstrate excellence in all mission areas);
  2. Global reach and recognition of the individual's program; and
  3. Noteworthy contributions to improving the human condition.

Nomination packages should be submitted electronically as a single pdf file to ipia@purdue.edu by Friday, March 6, 2020 at 5pm. Please place "Hardin Award Nomination" in the subject line.

Faculty Travel Grants

PRF International Travel Grants

For the 2019-2020 academic year, PRF allocated to the College of Agriculture funds to support 20 grants of up to $1000 to help faculty participate in international meetings occuring between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020.  These funds were competitively awarded in two phases. In February 2019, thirteen awards were allocated during Phase 1 for travel to meetings taking place between July 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019. In September 2019, seven faculty travel grants were awarded in Phase 2 for travel taking place between January 01, 2020 and June 30, 2020.  Grant application guidelines were provided to all departments via email.

We expect to award a similar number of travel grants in the 2020-2021 academic year.  Announcements and deadlines for Phase 1 grants will be provided in late January 2020.  Submission may be via hard copy or email to lkucik@purdue.edu.  An applicant may apply before receiving confirmation of their meeting role, but will need to provide confirmation of their participation before using the award. Note that PRF guidelines state that "a faculty member may not have two International Travel Grants in one fiscal year." Recipients of awards in Phase I are not eligible for Phase 2 awards. Please contact Lonni Kucik in IPIA (48461; lkucik@purdue.edu) if you have any questions regarding the PRF International Travel Grant program. For more information, visit the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships Internal Funding website.

D. Woods Thomas Memorial Scholarship

The D. Woods Thomas Memori​al Scholarship was set-up in 1993 by family and friends of Dr. D. Woods Thomas, former Dean of International Programs in Agriculture, to honor him by providing support and encouragement for U.S graduate students doing research or studying in a developing country.

2019 Recipients-Dale's-faculty+heads small.jpg2019 Award Recipients

On March 25, 2019, IPIA hosted a reception to honor three graduate students, Jacie Grant (ANSC), Meagan Rathjen (FRN) and Kirsten Roe (FNR/AGEC), who received $1000 scholarships to support their research focused in developing countries.  The students shared their backgrounds and their international research proposals.  Faculty sponsors and department heads attended to support their students. A special treat for all attendees was meeting and hearing from D. Woods Thomas's daughter and son-in-law, Leslie and Clark Dale.  Leslie expressed heartfelt appreciation for the students' interest in working in developing countries.  She relayed how "pleased" her father would be to know his legacy continues to encourage students to engage with stakeholders in developing countries to help solve issues.  

International Programs in Agriculture, 615 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA, (765) 494-6876

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In