Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content



 Awards Received by Food Science Faculty


Members of the faculty from the Department of Food Science are recognized internationally as experts in their fields. They are invited to travel around the globe for their expertise. Further proof of their excellence is in the awards and leadership positions they, and their students, receive. To name just a few:


World Food Prize

*Philip Nelson

Institute of Food Technologists

Elected President  *Philip Nelson
Bor S. Luh International Award Bruce Hamaker
Carl Fellers Award 
*Philip Nelson
Elected Fellows  *James BeMiller
*James Chambers
*Philip Nelson
S. Suzanne Nielsen
Nicholas Appert Award  *Philip Nelson
William Cruess Award  S. Suzanne Nielsen
Industrial Achievement Award  *Philip Nelson
Research and Development Award  Arun Bhunia
International Award
Bruce Hamaker
W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award
Bruce Hamaker
Minnesota Section Harold Macy Award *James BeMiller
Kevin Keener
*Philip Nelson
Samuel Cate Prescott Award Mario Ferruzzi

American Association of Cereal Chemists

Elected President *James BeMiller
Alsberg-French-Schoch Award *James BeMiller
William F. Goeddes Award Bruce Hamaker

American Society of Nutrition

Mary Swartz Rose Junior Investigator Award Mario Ferruzzi

American Chemical Society

Melville Wolfrom Award  *James BeMiller

Other Society/Organization Awards

Nolan Mitchell Young Extension, ASABE  Kevin Keener
American Egg Board Research Award, Poultry Science Assoc.  Kevin Keener
Medal, Japanese Society of Applied Glycoscience *James BeMiller
Sagamore of the Wabash, IN *Philip Nelson

Purdue University

University Faculty Scholar
". . . to recognize outstanding faculty colleagues who are
on an accelerated path for academic distinction."
Arun Bhunia
Lisa Mauer

Graduate Educator Award
*James BeMiller
Bruce Hamaker
S. Suzanne Nielsen
Agricultural Research Award Arun Bhunia
  Bruce Hamaker
  Lisa Mauer
  S. Suzanne Nielsen 
Teaching Academy Lisa Mauer

Agriculture Team Award
". . . to recognize outstanding collaborative efforts within and outside of Purdue’s College of Agriculture"
International Sorghum and Millet Project
Indiana Wine and Grape Council
Food Safety BioSensor Team
Helen B. Schleman Award S. Suzanne Nielsen
Purdue Extension Sharvelle Award Kevin Keener

* Professor Emeritus


Purdue is pleased to announce several faculty have been recruited to become administrators at other universities or have received additional appointments within Purdue University. Those, so honored, include:

Rakesh Singh Department Head, Georgia
John Floros Dean, College of Agriculture, Kansas State University
S. Suzanne Nielsen Department Head, Purdue
Richard Linton Dean, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, North Carolina State University