IAA-RAMSEY Urban Forestry Award


Each year the Indiana Arborist Association (IAA) awards the IAA- Ramsey Award to a Purdue University student who has a professional interest in some aspect of urban forestry. The IAA makes the award in memory of Paul Ramsey, who was an outstanding Indiana arborist. The award consists of a scholarship award plaque and a check for $500.00. The recipient will be presented the award at the IAA Annual Conference luncheon, in Indianapolis.

Candidates for this award should be students in the Department of Forestry and Natural Resources or Horticulture at Purdue University and have completed their sophomore year and have a cumulative grade of “C’ or better. Candidates are not limited to the Urban Forestry area. The selection committee consists of at least three (3) members of the IAA. Should the committee not be presented with any candidate that they feel is worthy, the award shall not be made for that year.​​​

IAA-RAMSEY Urban Forestry Scholarship​ Application​ (PDF 175KB)
2015 Casey Johnson
2014 Travis Dunn
2013 Kris Brown
2012 Andy Ritter
2011 Zachary Seeger
2010 Andy Ritter
2009 Brad Engle
2008 Michael Ranninger
2007 N/A
2006 Joseph Uhler
2005 Cory Schnick
2004 Cory Schnick
2003 Andrew Callahan
2002 Adam Ward
Past Recipients 

2001 Jeff Clark
1999 William Shoemaker, Jr.
1998 William Shoemaker, Jr
1997 Hollie Thierbach
1996 Melissa Spiker
1995 Michael Callahan
1994 Heather Lanham
1993 Not Awarded
1992 Stephanie Foster
1991 David Wenk
1990 David Wenk
1989 David Breedlove
1988 David Breedlove

1987 Sharon Richley
1986 Sharon Richley
1985 Carla Chesterton
1984 Derek Vannice
1983 Mark Polliak
1982 Michael Maskal
1981 Matthew Fleck
1980 Elizabeth Blair
1979 Hans Williams
1978 Raymond Rudie, Jr.
1977 Jeffrey Ford
1976 John Toth
1975 Susan Morgan​​​