Ag Research Award General Information​ 

The annual Purdue Agricultural Research Award consists of a plaque, a $1,500 honorarium funded by earnings in the Charles Guthrie Patterson Memorial Endowment and Matthew Morgan Hamilton Funds, and $10,000 for the recipient’s research program. Agricultural Research at Purdue has presented this award annually since 1982.

Nomination gui​​delines

Department heads and faculty may nominate deserving candidates with less than 18 years experience beyond the Ph.D.

  • Concise Summary (a paragraph or list) describing major achievements and impacts
  • Academic Record (educational background)
  • Faculty Appointments (rank, date)
  • Memberships in professional societies and organizations, editorial boards, grants panels, etc.
  • Awards and honors received
  • List of publications in the following categories:
    • Refereed journal papers (including impact factors, citation indices), book chapters, and books
    • Other technical publications, including published proceedings
    • Published abstracts
    • Invitational papers presented
  • Research grants and contracts
  • Students and postdoctorates advised
  • Statement of research contribution – Limit to two pages. Describe the nominee’s significant accomplishments and the impact of the person’s research. Explain how the nominee’s work has contributed to agriculture, natural resources, or quality of life of Indiana citizens. The latter should be interpreted broadly, as the research undertaken may not have an immediate or direct impact on agriculture, natural resources, and quality of life.
  • Supporting letters–There should be four supporting letters, including two from well-recognized peers in the field from outside Purdue University. These should cover how the person’s research accomplishments impact the field or discipline.
  • Nominations for the 2017 Award must be submitted electronically to Nominations for the 2017 Award must be submitted electronically to Ag Research ( by by February 6, 2017.

Past rec​ipients

2016    Jianxin Ma, Agronomy
2015    Nate Mosier, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
​2014    Shihuan Kuang, Animal Sciences2013    Mario Ferruzi, Food Science
2012    Indrajeet Chaubey, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
2011    Andrew DeWoody, Forestry and Natural Resources
2010    Lisa Mauer, Food Science
2009    Daniel Szymanski, Agronomy
2008    Rabi Mohtar, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
2007    Gerald Shively, Agricultural Economics
2006    Dirk Maier, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
2005    Natalia Dudareva, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
2004    Michael Spurlock, Animal Sciences
2003    Arun Bhunia, Food Science
2002    K.G. Raghothama, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
2001    Clint Chapple, Biochemistry
2000    Bruce Hamaker, Food Science
1999    Sally A. Mackenzie, Agronomy
1998    Bernard Engle, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
1997    S. Suzanne Nielsen, Food Science
1996    Allan P. Schinckel, Animal Sciences
1995    Thomas W. Hertel, Agricultural Economics
1994    W. Randy Woodson, Horticulture
1993    Jeffrey Volenec, Agronomy
1992    Mark A. Diekman, Animal Sciences
1991    Nicholas C. Carpita, Botany and Plant Pathology
1990    Martin Okos, Agricultural Engineering
1989    Phillip C. Abbott, Agricultural Economics
1988    Peter E. Dunn, Entomology
1985    Michael R. Ladisch, Agricultural Engineering
1984    Wallace Tyner, Agricultural Economics
1983    John H. Cushman, Agronomy
1982    Robert L. Thompson, Agricultural Economics



Ag Research at Purdue
Phone: 765-494-8362