Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DAA: Dale R. Butcher

Dale R. Butcher

West Lafayette, IN | Distinguished Ag Alumni: 1995

Mr. Butcher is an agricultural science and business teacher at Benton Central High School, a position he has held for the past thirty years. He has been ranked among the top agricultural and business teachers in the United States. The Benton Community School Corporation named him Teacher of the Year in 1990. He also earned the Distinguished Teacher Award from Wes tern Illinois University. During his tenure, he has been instrumental in establishing the Benton Central FF A Alumni Consignment Machinery Auction, which has generated over $115,000 for chapter operations and agriculture scholarships. He strongly encourages students to pursue educational opportunities beyond high school. Mr. Butcher’s leadership in agricultural science and business education is widely recognized. He served as president of the Indiana Vocational Agriculture Teachers Association in 1975-76 and was president of the National Vocational Agricultural Teachers Association from 1982 to 1984. He was a charter member of the National Council for Vocational and Technical Education in Agricultural. He also served as vice president of the American Vocation Association from 1991 to 1994. Mr. Butcher has been actively involved in setting the national agenda for agricultural science and business education. He served on the National Academy of Sciences panel to evaluate U.S. agricultural education programs that prepared the National Research Council report, Understanding Agriculture-New Directions for Education. This report served as a catalyst for change in all levels of agricultural education. He has also been at the forefront of new curriculum development initiatives for Indiana’s agricultural science and business programs. Mr. Butcher has served on the boards of the National FFA and the National Council for Agricultural Education. Purdue University has been the beneficiary of his good counsel through his service as a member of the Department of Education’s Advisory Committee.