Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

COD : Kaye H. Whitehead

2005 Certificate of Distinction Winner Kaye H. Whitehead

Kaye H. Whitehead

Muncie, IN | Certificate of Distinction: 2005

Kaye Whitehead operates Seldom Rest Farms, a 3,300-acre grain, hay and hog operation near Muncie in Delaware County, in partnership with her husband. A native of Kentucky, Whitehead received a B.S. in Animal Science from the University of Kentucky in 1975. She has been farming in Indiana since 1977 and has worked as a tireless advocate for livestock and production agriculture. She is a graduate of Class I of the Indiana Agricultural Leadership Program.
Seldom Rest Farm is described by one nominator as “economically, environmentally and politically sustainable.” The Whitehead family hosted the Indiana Farm Management Tour in 1993. Whitehead’s volunteer service to agriculture spans numerous local, state and national organizations. An active member of Indiana Farm Bureau (IFB), she has served as the Delaware County Farm Bureau president since 1990 and was co-chair of the 1996 Farm Bill Task Force and chaired the Department of Agriculture Task Force in 2003-2004. She has been a member of the Delaware County Pork Producers for 29 years and has served as an officer and member of the board of directors. She served two terms as the president of the Indiana Pork Producers Association, and was on the executive committee for six years. She was a member of Senator Dan Quayle’s agricultural advisory committee from 1985 to 1987 and served as chairman of Congressman David McIntosh’s ag advisory committee for 1994 to 2000. From 1997 to 2001 she served on the National Pork Board, an advisory group to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture. From 1994 to 1996 she was on the agriculture advisory committee of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. She was a member of the Purdue University Agriculture Dean’s Advisory Council from 2000 to 2004. In 2004 she was a member of the Federal Meat Export Council.
Whitehead has been actively involved in community service, as well. She has been on the board of Ball Memorial Hospital since 1999. She has served as board member (8 years) and president of the Delaware County Sheriff’s Merit Board and board member (10 years) and chair of the Minnetrista Cultural Center. Her honors include: Delaware County Farm Bureau Woman of the Year (1984); Indiana Jaycees Outstanding Young Farmer 1st runner-up (1985); Indiana Outstanding Young Pork Producer (1985); Pork Magazine’s Pork Marketer of the Year (1985); Delaware County Farm Bureau Woman of Achievement (1989); Indiana Prairie Farmer Master Farmer (1987); and Sagamore of the Wabash (1987).