Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

COD : W.Wayne Townsend

Certificate of Distinction Winner-1989 W. Wayne Townsend

W.Wayne Townsend

Grant County, IN | Certificate of Distinction: 1989

Townsend, 62, was honored for his leadership in professional agricultural organizations, civic interests and government. A native of Grant County, he is a 1951 graduate of Purdue, earning a bachelor’s degree in general agriculture. He farms 1,387 acres and manages a 700-sow farrow-to-finish confinement operation. Townsend served in the Indiana House of Representatives in 1959-60, and 1963-66. He was elected to an Indiana Senate seat in 1970, and held that office until 1986. He was the Democrativ gubernatorial candidate in 1984. Townsend is a director of Summit Bank, Marion, chairman of the Finance Committee, First Friends Church, Marion, and a member of the Rotary Club. He served as chairman of the Rural Division of Grant County United Fund. He is a member of both the Indiana Farm Bureau an the Farmer’s Union, and has been a member of the Indiana Farm Policy Study Group since 1960. He is a past president of Grant County Purdue Agricultural Alumni Association, and a past director of the Purdue Agricultural Alumni Association. He has also served as trustee of Earlham College.